Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Our Philosophy

The UT Austin Department of Chemistry values all of its members, each of whom provide essential contributions to our department’s teaching and research missions. Our community of Longhorn chemists is made stronger by its diversity and we are committed to supporting the success of our students, faculty, and staff regardless of their race, ethnicity, gender identity, sexual orientation, nationality, religion, and socioeconomic status. This support also includes those with disabilities, mental health conditions, and dependents. As a department, we believe that all members of our community should be treated with dignity and respect and given the opportunity to thrive. We welcome and value every individual’s opinion and contribution, recognizing that our department has been built and continues to grow on the shoulders of many, and thrives when we work together. 
We continue to work on building an environment within our department that supports the needs of our students, faculty, and staff. The Department of Chemistry is striving to fulfill its commitment to nurture and promote crucial values that are at the core of our College and University missions. You Belong Here.

Our Community

Creating a more diverse and welcoming campus is a top priority not just for our department, but for our college and university as well. We invite you to learn more about the ways that both the College of Natural Science and the University of Texas at Austin are working to improve diversity, equity, and inclusion across campus. Many initiatives are led by our Division of Diversity and Community Engagement, including Inclusive Campus Support, which allows university community members to share their campus climate experiences that are concerning or helpful. The UT Austin Ombuds and Title IX offices also support our community in ensuring that individual experiences are equitable.

Our Place

We would like to acknowledge that we are meeting on Indigenous land. We acknowledge and pay our respects to the Carrizo & Comecrudo, Coahuiltecan, Caddo, Tonkawa, Comanche, Lipan Apache, Alabama-Coushatta, Kickapoo, Tigua Pueblo, and all the American Indian and Indigenous Peoples and communities who have been or have become a part of these lands and territories in Texas, here on Turtle Island.