Button to scroll to the top of the page.


Campus health and safety are our top priorities. Get the latest from UT on COVID-19.

Get help with Zoom and more.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

C. Grant Willson Retiring

The Department of Chemistry and the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin will sorely miss the science, leadership, wisdom, and humor from Professor C. Grant Willson after his official retirement in winter 2020. Professor Willson has been an inspiration to junior and senior faculty alike, often because of h...

Former Faculty Colleague Evan Kyba Passes Away

It is with profound sadness that the family of Evan P. Kyba, Ph.D., announces his death on Sunday, September 15, 2019. After four years of major health challenges with cardiac and renal disease, Evan determined the game he fought so valiantly had run its course. He chose to forgo further medical treatment and to spend his last days with his devoted...

Kanchan Aggarwal Receives Safety-First Leadership Fellowship

Graduate student Kanchan Aggarwal is the recipient of the second annual Safety-First Leadership Fellowship awarded in the Department of Chemistry. Kanchan was selected based on her ambitious proposal where she will provide the leadership structure in expanding the role of the Chemistry Student Safety Organization (CSSO) by various safety initiative...

Stephen Martin Named Gund-Harrington Scholar

Stephen Martin, Professor of Chemistry and the M. June and J. Virgil Waggoner Regents Chair in Chemistry, has been named the Gund-Harrington Scholar for 2019 by the Harrington Discovery Institute and the Foundation Fighting Blindness. This award is made annually through a competitive selection process to innovative scientists and physician-sci...

Jonathan Sessler Receives Career Research Excellence Award

Professor Jonathan Sessler is the recipient of the 2019 Co-op Career Research Excellence Award from the Office of the Vice President for Research. The award recognizes a faculty member or staff researcher who has maintained a superior research program across many years. The award is accompanied by a check in the amount of $10,000.