Button to scroll to the top of the page.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Dr. Lauren Webb Joins the Department

Dr. Lauren Webb received her A.B in Chemistry (Music minor) from Bowdoin College in 2000. She entered graduate school at the California Institute of Technology as an NSF Graduate Research Fellow and earned her Ph.D. in Chemistry in 2005. She did her graduate work in the laboratory of Prof. Nathan Lewis, where she studied chemical and electronic p...

Dr. Larry Faulkner

The American Chemical Society Student Affiliate at The University of Texas at Austin is proud to host Dr. Larry Faulkner Thursday, April 24 5 pm Welch Hall 2.122 All are welcome, light refreshments will be served. "Lessons from a Not-Quite-Exact Science" With some humor and autobiography, Dr. Larry Faulkner will discuss the ways in which exp...

Professor John McDevitt's New Nano-Bio-Chip Can Help Diagnose Heart Attacks

Click here for full article

Professor Kallie Willets Receives NSF Advisory Council Award!

Congratulations to Professor Kallie Willets who has been awarded the Natural Sciences Foundation Advisory Council Teaching Excellence Award. This is a student-nominated and student-selected award. Dr. Willets has been invited to attend the College of Natural Sciences Honors and Awards Banquet on April 24th at the San Jacinto Residence Hall.

Congratulations to the Spring Symposium Poster Session Winners!

Congratulations to the following 2008 Spring Symposium Poster Session Winners: Undergraduates 1st Place- WENLY RUAN 2nd Place- CHAD WEBB 3rd Place- VINAY MIKKILINENI Graduate Students & Postdocs 1st Place- MICHAEL O'KEEFE 2nd Place- JEFF STRAHAN 3rd Place- JOAQUIN RODRÍGUEZ-LÓPEZ Great job to all those who presented posters, and thank ...

Jonathan Sessler's Current Research is Recognized by UT Community

Chemistry professor Jonathan Sessler is one of many faculty members from a range of disciplines at The University of Texas at Austin who have been able to adapt their ongoing research to investigate ways of dealing with IEDs. Sessler is working on ways to detect molecules of explosives used in IEDs and similar weapons. The result could be to make d...

Congratulations to Dr. Chris Bielawski

Professor Chris Bielawski has received a 2008 Teaching Excellence Award from the College of Natural Sciences.

Congratulations to Christopher Bielawski

Professor Christopher Bielawski has been selected to receive the 2008 Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award. This highly competitive and presitgious award seeks to recognize young scientists and engineers who show exceptional promise for outstanding careers in research and teaching. He will receive support for three years to develop nov...

2008 Chemistry & Biochemistry Spring Symposium

Saturday, April 5, 2008

Call for Beckman Scholar Applications

This year's undergraduate Beckman Scholar competition has begun. http://research.cm.utexas.edu/beckman/

Professor Kenneth A. Johnson and student Yu-Chih Tsai Receive ACS Recognition

A paper published in the ACS journal Biochemistry by Kenneth A. Johnson and his student, Yu-Chih Tsai, has been recognized by the American Chemical Society as a Most-Cited Article for the year 2006. In the paper, “A new paradigm for DNA-polymerase specificity” (Tsai, Y.-C., and K. A. Johnson (2006) Biochemistry 45, 9675-9687), Tsai and Johnson show...

Professors Bielawski and Mahal named Sloan Research Fellows

Congratulations to Chris Bielawski and Lara Mahal for receiving the Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship! This extremely competitive and prestigious award is given to top young scientists at colleges and universities throughout the United States and Canada. It is a 2-year fellowship that provides flexible funds to support each professor's current an...

Professor Chris Bielawski to receive a 3M Nontenured Faculty Grant

Congratulations to Dr. Bielawski for being awarded a 3M Nontenured Faculty Grant form 3M's Research and Development sector, in partnership with the Corporate Giving Program. The award recognizes outstanding new faculty for the quality and pertinence of their research, the subject of which is of interest to 3M. With the unrestricted funds offered by...

Women in Chemistry Career Fair

Women in Chemistry is proud to present a career exploration event entitled “Your Career in Chemistry: Thinking Outside the Beaker” on Saturday, February 23, 2008, 8:30am-5pm, in Welch Hall. Unlike college-wide career fairs, this event will specifically address the many career options available to you with a bachelors or advanced degree in chemistry...

Dr. Krische Receives Green Chemistry Grant

Professor Michael Krische is the recipient of the first Green Chemistry grant awarded to a member of the University of Texas faculty. This grant was awarded to Professor Krische by The ACS Green Chemistry Institute Pharmaceutical Roundtable, which is a partnership of member global pharmaceutical companies with the ACS Green Chemistry Institute. The...

Department Promotions

Congratulations to Professors Rick Russell and Jason Shear on receiving faculty promotions! Biochemistry Professor Rick Russell has recently been promoted from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor and awarded tenure, and Physical and Analytical Chemistry Professor Jason Shear has been promoted from Associate Professor to Full Professor

Austin Symposium on Molecular Structure, May 1st-4th

The 22nd biennial Austin Symposium on Molecular Structure is scheduled for May 1st through 4th at the Radisson Hotel in Austin. Details of the event can be found at http://www.ged.chem.ed.ac.uk/austin/. Approximately 100 scientists from around the world will present talks and posters concerning experimental and theoretical methods for studying mole...