Button to scroll to the top of the page.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Graduate student Edward Evans receives NSF fellowship

Department of Chemistry graduate student, Edward Evans has been awarded a graduate fellowship by the National Science Foundation.  Edward works in the lab of Professor Charles "Buddie" Mullins where his research focuses on renewable energy.  Edward received a B.A. in Chemistry from Wabash College in May 2013.  

Michael Cammarata Receives ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Graduate Fellowship

Michael Cammarata, of the Brodbelt group, received a 2015 ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Graduate Fellowship.  This highly competitive fellowship is given to graduate students in the field of analytical chemistry with a strong record of accomplishments.  Michael is completing his fourth year in the graduate program at UT, and the AC...

Zhongxing Huang Receives IPMI Elemetal Graduate Student Award

Congratulations to Zhongxing Huang, of the Dong Group, for receiving the 2015 IPMI Elemetal Graduate Student Award from the International Precious Metals Institute. The award recognizes unique research that advances the science of precious metal chemistry, catalysis, metallurgy, or natural science and increases the probability of industry to use or...

Graduate students participate in Inclusive Classrooms Leadership Certificate Seminar

In Fall 2014, several Department of Chemistry graduate students attended the Inclusive Classrooms Leadership Certificate Seminar, sponsored by the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement and the Graduate School.   Developed by Dr. Betty Jeanne Taylor, assistant vice president for strategic initiatives, the seminar engages teaching ass...

Congratulations to our Safety Madness Winners

Following a round of student led lab safety inspections, winners have been selected for our "Measures" and "Makers" conference brackets. The Roberts group takes home the final prize for the “Measurers” conference and the Anslyn group wins the “Makers” conference. Each group has earned a $200 gift card for their lab for showing excellent lab safety....