Button to scroll to the top of the page.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Diana Zamora-Olivares Receives Stanley J. Roux, Jr. Excellence in Experiential Teaching Award

Assistant Professor of Practice Diana Zamora-Olivares, affiliated with the Freshmen Research Initiative, has been selected for the 2023 Stanley J. Roux, Jr. Excellence in Experiential Teaching Award. This CNS teaching award recognizes excellence in providing experiential learning opportunities for students through research and hands-on engagement.

Lynn Stevens Receives POLY Graduate Student Travel Award

Graduate student Lynn Stevens of the Zak Page Group is a recipient of the American Chemical Society Division of Polymer Chemistry, Inc Graduate Student Travel Award. The award provides funding for travel to the ACS national meeting and recipients are recognized at the POLY/PMSE awards symposium.

Devleena Samanta and Pedro Metola Receive Teaching Excellence Award

Assistant Professor Devleena Samanta and Assistant Professor of Practice Pedro Metola are recipients of the College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award. This award recognizes excellence among the College's many exceptional faculty who are committed to teaching at either the undergraduate or graduate level.

Ken Hsu Founder of New Biotech Company

Ken Hsu is scientific founder of a new startup biotech company that launched this week with $56M in seed financing. Hyku Biosciences aims to develop covalent oncology drugs based on advancing Hsu’s sulfur–triazole exchange (SuTEx) chemistry. https://www.hykubiosciences.com/news-media/press-release-9-19-23

Yi-Chih Lin Receives NIH Maximizing Investigators' Research Award

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Yi-Chih Lin, recipient of a five-year NIH Maximizing Investigators' Research Award (MIRA) grant titled, “Real-time structural and functional studies of SARS-CoV-2 spike proteins." This $1.95M grant will support Dr. Lin's research in developing a cutting-edge structural imaging technique, high-speed atomic forc...