Button to scroll to the top of the page.


Campus health and safety are our top priorities. Get the latest from UT on COVID-19.

Get help with Zoom and more.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Join the Inclusivity, Diversity, and Equity (IDEA) Task Force

Would you like to meet peers and work with faculty members within the Department of Chemistry advocating for diversity, equity, and inclusivity?  We would like to invite you to join the Inclusivity, Diversity, and Equity (IDEA) Task Force! This is an up and coming organization within the Department of Chemistry open for postdocs, graduate, and...

Rich Jones Retirement

At the end of the Spring 2020 semester, Professor Richard Atherley Jones formally retired from his position as Professor in the Department of Chemistry, marking the completion of a venerated 40 years of commitment to teaching and research. To mark this important milestone in Rich’s life, and to pay due tribute to his momentous impact on his student...

Chemistry Graduate Student Awards Showcase

Dear Colleagues and Friends, I am delighted to introduce the Chemistry Graduate Student Awards Showcase for 2020 to acknowledge and celebrate the major fellowships and awards received by our graduate students over the past few semesters. Please click on the link to review the extraordinary achievements of our graduate students. Congratulations to a...

Page Research Published in JACS

Recent interdisciplinary materials chemistry research efforts in the ZAP lab titled “Catalyst Halogenation Enables Rapid and Efficient Polymerizations with Visible to Far-Red Light” has been published in the Journal of the American Chemical Society. In this paper, Page and coworkers developed highly reactive visible to far-red light driven cat...

Jonathan Sessler Receives Ronald Breslow Award for Achievement in Biomimetic Chemistry

Professor Jonathan Sessler is the 2021 recipient of the Ronald Breslow Award for Achievement in Biomimetic Chemistry, sponsored by the Ronald Breslow Award Endowment. The award, administered by the American Chemical Society, recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of biomimetic chemistry. Sessler will be honored at an award...

Professor Emeritus Alan Cowley Has Passed Away

https://www.dignitymemorial.com/obituaries/austin-tx/alan-cowley-9296880 Professor Emeritus Alan Herbert Cowley was born in Manchester, UK, on January 29, 1934 to Dora Smalley Cowley and Herbert Cowley. He passed away peacefully on August 2, 2020. He is survived by a wife, Deborah Cole and children Dr. Peter Cowley and Susan Cowley, daughter-in-la...

Carlos Baiz and Sean Roberts Receive NSF Major Research Instrumentation Grant

Sean Roberts and Carlos Baiz of UT Austin and James Batteas of Texas A&M University are recipients of a $1 million National Science Foundation grant through the Major Research Instrumentation Program (MRI). They plan to build a new microscope that will be part of the UT MRSEC user facility. The microscope is designed to...

Que Research Published in JACS

Cover art by Gulshan Kishore and Kanchan Aggarwal Recent chemical biology research efforts in the Que lab have resulted in a publication in the Journal of the American Chemical Society titled “Visible Light Mediated Bidirectional Control over Carbonic Anhydrase Activity in Cells and in Vivo Using Azobenzenesulfonamides.” In this pape...

Alan Campion Retiring

The Department of Chemistry and the College of Natural Sciences will be saying farewell to Professor Alan Campion after a remarkable 40 years of dedicated teaching, service, and research at UT Austin. After completing his graduate studies at UCLA and postdoctoral work at UC Berkeley, Alan came to UT as a Professor in 1979 and has been in our depart...

Alumna Olja Simoska Receives Irving S. Sigal Postdoctoral Fellowship

The American Chemical Society has awarded the Irving S. Sigal Postdoctoral Fellowship to alumna Olja Simoska. Olja received her PhD from UT Austin in 2019, under the supervision of Keith Stevenson and Jason Shear. She is currently a postdoc in Shelley D. Minteer's group at the University of Utah. For her Irving S. Sigal Postdoctoral ...

Advancing Diversity and Inclusivity in the Department of Chemistry

We, as a department, strive to create a community that embraces diversity and inclusivity in all aspects of education, research, service, outreach, and mentoring. We are reeling from the recent events that have shaken our nation. In addition, we emphatically renounce the perspective conveyed in a recent article in Angewandte Chemie that disparaged ...

Collection Published in Honor of Eric Anslyn

In honor of Professor Eric Anslyn's 60th birthday, ChemComm (Chemical Communications) published a collection of articles titled, "The Mechanics of Supramolecular Chemistry." The collection was edited by Professor Tony James, Professor Jonathan Sessler and Professor Bruce Gibb.  

Scientific Glassblower Adam Kennedy Featured in The Alcalde

Department of Chemistry scientific glassblower Adam Kennedy is featured in The Alcalde article "Glass Bender." Kennedy is UT Austin's only scientific glassblower.  Photo by Matt Wright-Steel 

Richard M. Crooks Festschrift

To recognize Dick Crook's achievements in electrochemistry and his enthusiastic support of the electrochemistry community, four former students and colleagues organized a Special Collection published in ChemElectroChem on the occasion of a milestone birthday. Congratulations to Dick!

Glenn Hill Lattimore Endowment for Excellence in Chemistry Approved

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that the Glenn Hill Lattimore Endowment for Excellence in Chemistry was approved by the UT System on April 20, 2020. Alumna Virginia Glenn Hill Lattimore (BA in Chemistry, 1947) set up a charitable gift annuity in 2012 to create the excellence fund. This endowment provides funding for use...

Livia Eberlin Receives 2020 IFCC Young Investigator Award

Assistant Professor Livia Eberlin is the recipient of the 2020 IFCC Young Investigator Award. This award recognizes and encourages the academic and professional development of a young investigator (under 40 years of age) who has demonstrated exceptional scientific achievements in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine early in his/her...

Michael Aubrey Joining Department

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that Dr. Michael Aubrey will join the University of Texas at Austin in 2021. Aubrey received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley under the supervision of Jeffrey R. Long. He went on to be a postdoctoral researcher in Mercouri Kanatzidis‘ laboratory at Northwestern and a postdoctor...

Sean Roberts Promoted

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that Sean Roberts has been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure, effective September 1, 2020. Roberts received his PhD in 2010 from MIT, followed by a postdoctoral fellow appointment at the University of Southern California.  He joined the Department in 2014.

Livia Eberlin Receives Curt Brunnée Award

Assistant Professor Livia Eberlin is the recipient of the 2020 Curt Brunnée Award. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the development of instrumentation for mass spectrometry by a person under the age of 45 at the time of the award. Eberlin will receive the award at the 23rd International Mass Spectrometry Conference in&nbs...

Emily Que Receives Paul Saltman Young Investigator Award

Assistant Professor Emily Que is the recipient of the Paul Saltman Young Investigator Award from the Metals in Biology Gordon Research Conference (MIB GRC). The MIB GRC is regarded as the pre-eminent forum for cutting-edge research in bioinorganic chemistry. Que gave her award lecture this week discussing her lab's work in developing fluorescent pr...