Button to scroll to the top of the page.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Paul McCord Receives Course Affordability Award

Associate Professor of Instruction Paul McCord received the 2021 Course Affordability Award, granted by the Natural Sciences Council. This award is entirely nominated, selected, and awarded by students. CNS faculty and staff who have won student-nominated awards are honored at the annual Faculty and Staff Appreciation Banquet he...

Deborah Walker Receives Faculty Innovation Center Undergraduate Teaching Grant

Associate Professor of Instruction Deborah Walker received a Faculty Innovation Center Undergraduate Teaching Grant for her proposal titled, “Building Self-Regulation via Mindset & Feedback in Exam Wrappers." Dr. Walker's project aims to educate students about study skills and elevate the effective use of exam wrappers (strategies and exercises...

Zak Page Receives 2021 RadLaunch Award

Assistant Professor Zak Page was honored with a 2021 RadLaunch Award sponsored by RadTech, the nonprofit for UV+EB technology. Zak was selected for his innovative high resolution stereolithographic 3D printing technology for multi-color visible light additive manufacturing.

Robert Newberry Joining Department

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that Robert Newberry will join the University of Texas at Austin in Spring 2022 as an assistant professor. An alumnus of the department (B.S., 2011), Dr. Newberry received his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison under the supervision of Ronald T. Raines. He went on to a postdoctoral posi...

Andrei Straumanis and Stacy Sparks Receive TONIC Award

Andrei Straumanis and Stacy Sparks have been selected to receive a Transformational Online Instruction Contributions (TONIC) award. This award recognizes professional instructional faculty who have demonstrated “exceptional creativity and rapid innovation in hybrid/online instruction”. During a tough COVID year, Andrei and Stacy have accelerat...