Button to scroll to the top of the page.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Graeme Henkelman named holder of the George W. Watt Centennial Professorship

Congratulations to Graeme Henkelman on being named the holder of the George W. Watt Centennial Professorship. This professorship recognizes his outstanding performance in Chemistry and reflects unanimous appraisal of his excellent career trajectory. The George W. Watt Centennial Professorship was established by the Board of Regents of The Univ...

Thirumalai Receives the Hans Neurath Award

Professor Dave Thirumalai is the 2019 recipient of the Hans Neurath Award. The Hans Neurath Award honors individuals who have made a recent contribution of exceptional merit to basic protein research. Professor Thirumalai will be presented the award at the Protein Society's 33rd Annual Symposium in Seattle, Washington. 

Krische Receives Ta-Shue Chou Lectureship Award

Professor Michael J. Krische is the 2019 Ta-Shue Chou Lectureship Award administered by the Chinese Chemical Society (Taipei). This lectureship award has been designated as a mid-career award to honor an international recipient with great success in the broad field of research empowered by organic chemistry. A list of prior recipients is given belo...

Rose, Shear, Sparks and Walker Promoted

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that Mike Rose, Ruth Shear, Stacy Sparks, and Deborah Walker have been promoted, effective September 1, 2019. Mike Rose has been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure. Rose received his PhD in 2009 from the University of California, Santa Cruz (advisor: Professor Pradip Mascharak), followed b...

Eberlin Named Emerging Inventor of the Year

Assistant Professor Livia Eberlin is the Office of Technology Commercialization's Emerging Inventor of the Year. Her invention, the MasSpec Pen, is an automated and biocompatible handheld mass spectrometry device for rapid and non-destructive diagnosis of human cancer tissues.  Click here for the full article about the award.