Button to scroll to the top of the page.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Paul McCord Named Affordable Education Champion

Associate Professor of Instruction Paul McCord has been named an Affordable Education Champion by the UT Natural Sciences Council in partnership with UT Libraries. Affordable Education Champions are student-nominated instructors who increase access and equity by selecting free or low cost course materials for their courses. 

Hang Ren Joining Department

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that Dr. Hang Ren will join the University of Texas at Austin in Fall 2021. Currently an assistant professor at Miami University, he will move to Austin this summer.  With his background in electrochemistry and analytical chemistry, Dr. Ren will develop new scanning electrochemical probe micro...

Yi Lu Joining Department

We are pleased to announce that Prof. Yi Lu will join the Department of Chemistry this coming Fall 2021. He will hold the Robert J.V. Johnson-Welch Regents Chair in Chemistry. Dr. Lu received his PhD from UCLA in 1992 under Prof. Joan Valentine and did his post-doctoral work at Caltech under Prof. Harry Gray. Dr. Lu comes to UT from the University ...

Sessler's Work Featured in C&ENews Molecule of the Year

Professor Jonathan Sessler's work is recognized by C&ENews in their eagerly-anticipated 2020 Molecule of the Year competition. If you see this gigantic 2-D metallo-supramolecular assembly flying your way, be sure to duck.  

Zachariah Page Receives Grant from Air Force Office of Scientific Research

Assistant Professor Zachariah Page is a recipient of an Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) grant awarded through the Air Force's Young Investigator Research Program (YIP). The objective of this program is to foster creative basic research in science and engineering, enhance early career development of outstanding young invest...