Button to scroll to the top of the page.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Richard Crooks Awarded Faraday Medal

In recognition of very significant contributions to various areas of electrochemistry, Professor Richard Crooks has been invited to be the 2015 recipient of the Faraday Medal.


The Faraday Medal is currently awarded annually by the Electrochemistry Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) to an electrochemist working outside the UK in recognition of their outstanding original contributions and innovation in any field of electrochemistry.


The Medal will be presented at the annual UK Electrochem meeting, planned for September 13-15, 2015 at Durham University. The meeting will also feature a plenary lecture from Prof. Crooks, and themed parallel sessions of lectures.


The medal itself is made from sterling silver. It is 2 inches in diameter and the front face depicts a bust of Michael Faraday. On the obverse face there is a cyclic voltammogram with the winner's name engraved underneath. The Medal was first awarded in 1977 but in the early years it was not awarded every year.


With over 50,000 members and a knowledge business that spans the globe, the RSC is the UK’s professional body for chemical scientists, supporting and representing its members and bringing together chemical scientists from all over the world. The RSC was originally chartered in 1848.


Professor Crooks is a member of the Center for Electrochemistry Advisory Committee and is a Professor in the Department of Chemistry at The University of Texas at Austin, where he holds the Robert A. Welch Chair in Materials Chemistry.


Professor Emeritus Boyd Hardesty Has Passed Away
Department of Chemistry Participates in ExxonMobil...

Related Posts