Button to scroll to the top of the page.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Carlos Baiz and Sean Roberts Receive NSF Major Research Instrumentation Grant

Sean Roberts and Carlos Baiz of UT Austin and James Batteas of Texas A&M University are recipients of a $1 million National Science Foundation grant through the Major Research Instrumentation Program (MRI). They plan to build a new microscope that will be part of the UT MRSEC user facility. The microscope is designed to...

Sean Roberts Promoted

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that Sean Roberts has been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure, effective September 1, 2020. Roberts received his PhD in 2010 from MIT, followed by a postdoctoral fellow appointment at the University of Southern California.  He joined the Department in 2014.

Roberts Research Published in JACS

  Singlet fission is a process wherein an energetically excited electron in an organic crystal uses its energy to excite multiple electrons on neighboring molecules. Singlet fission can potentially be used to boost the performance of light harvesting systems such as solar cells and photocatalysts, yet designing materials that undergo this proc...

Shagufta Shabbir and Sean Roberts Receive Teaching Excellence Awards

Congratulations to Lecturer Shagufta Shabbir and Assistant Professor Sean Roberts, recipients of College of Natural Sciences 2017 Teaching Excellence Awards. This award recognizes faculty who have had a positive influence on the educational experience of our students. 

Sean Roberts Receives ACS Collaborative Opportunities Grant

Assistant Professor Sean Roberts is a 2016 recipient of the Collaborative Opportunities Grant from the American Chemical Society. The Collaborative Opportunities Grant, awarded to Dr. Roberts and his collaborator Dr. Shawn Amorde at Austin Community College, provides startup funds for a new undergraduate rese...

Roberts Research Published in the Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters

A new article from the Roberts group has just appeared in the Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters. In their paper, members of the Roberts lab describe a new spectrometer that they have developed for measuring spectra produced by electronic sum frequency generation (ESFG). ESFG is a nonlinear process that preferentially occurs at surfaces and int...

Congratulations to our Safety Madness Winners

Following a round of student led lab safety inspections, winners have been selected for our "Measures" and "Makers" conference brackets. The Roberts group takes home the final prize for the “Measurers” conference and the Anslyn group wins the “Makers” conference. Each group has earned a $200 gift card for their lab for showing excellent lab safety....

Safety Madness Final Four

The Safety Madness Final Four has been decided!   Congratulations to the Anslyn, Brodbelt, Humphrey, and Roberts groups for advancing to the final four.  Each group will receive a $100 gift card for demonstrating excellent safety in their labs.   The next round features Anslyn vs. Humphrey and Brodbelt vs. Roberts.  Stay tun...

Sean Roberts Receives Natural Science Foundation Advisory Council Teaching Award

Assistant Professor Sean Roberts has received the 2014 Natural Science Foundation Advisory Council Teaching Award. The Natural Sciences Foundation Advisory Council funds these student-nominated and -selected awards and presents them at the annual Natural Sciences Council Honors Brunch.

New faculty joining the department

The department is pleased to announce that Drs.  Emily Que and Sean Roberts will be joining the department in the 2013/2014 academic year.   Sean Roberts received his PhD from MIT under the supervision of Andrei Tokmakoff.  He went on to hold a postdoctoral position at the University of Southern California in the labs of Stephen ...