Button to scroll to the top of the page.


Campus health and safety are our top priorities. Get the latest from UT on COVID-19.

Get help with Zoom and more.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Que Research Published in JACS

Cover art by Gulshan Kishore and Kanchan Aggarwal Recent chemical biology research efforts in the Que lab have resulted in a publication in the Journal of the American Chemical Society titled “Visible Light Mediated Bidirectional Control over Carbonic Anhydrase Activity in Cells and in Vivo Using Azobenzenesulfonamides.” In this pape...

Alan Campion Retiring

The Department of Chemistry and the College of Natural Sciences will be saying farewell to Professor Alan Campion after a remarkable 40 years of dedicated teaching, service, and research at UT Austin. After completing his graduate studies at UCLA and postdoctoral work at UC Berkeley, Alan came to UT as a Professor in 1979 and has been in our depart...

Alumna Olja Simoska Receives Irving S. Sigal Postdoctoral Fellowship

The American Chemical Society has awarded the Irving S. Sigal Postdoctoral Fellowship to alumna Olja Simoska. Olja received her PhD from UT Austin in 2019, under the supervision of Keith Stevenson and Jason Shear. She is currently a postdoc in Shelley D. Minteer's group at the University of Utah. For her Irving S. Sigal Postdoctoral ...

Advancing Diversity and Inclusivity in the Department of Chemistry

We, as a department, strive to create a community that embraces diversity and inclusivity in all aspects of education, research, service, outreach, and mentoring. We are reeling from the recent events that have shaken our nation. In addition, we emphatically renounce the perspective conveyed in a recent article in Angewandte Chemie that disparaged ...

Collection Published in Honor of Eric Anslyn

In honor of Professor Eric Anslyn's 60th birthday, ChemComm (Chemical Communications) published a collection of articles titled, "The Mechanics of Supramolecular Chemistry." The collection was edited by Professor Tony James, Professor Jonathan Sessler and Professor Bruce Gibb.