Button to scroll to the top of the page.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Scientific Glassblower Adam Kennedy Featured in The Alcalde

Department of Chemistry scientific glassblower Adam Kennedy is featured in The Alcalde article "Glass Bender." Kennedy is UT Austin's only scientific glassblower.  Photo by Matt Wright-Steel 

Richard M. Crooks Festschrift

To recognize Dick Crook's achievements in electrochemistry and his enthusiastic support of the electrochemistry community, four former students and colleagues organized a Special Collection published in ChemElectroChem on the occasion of a milestone birthday. Congratulations to Dick!

Glenn Hill Lattimore Endowment for Excellence in Chemistry Approved

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that the Glenn Hill Lattimore Endowment for Excellence in Chemistry was approved by the UT System on April 20, 2020. Alumna Virginia Glenn Hill Lattimore (BA in Chemistry, 1947) set up a charitable gift annuity in 2012 to create the excellence fund. This endowment provides funding for use...

Livia Eberlin Receives 2020 IFCC Young Investigator Award

Assistant Professor Livia Eberlin is the recipient of the 2020 IFCC Young Investigator Award. This award recognizes and encourages the academic and professional development of a young investigator (under 40 years of age) who has demonstrated exceptional scientific achievements in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine early in his/her...

Michael Aubrey Joining Department

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that Dr. Michael Aubrey will join the University of Texas at Austin in 2021. Aubrey received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley under the supervision of Jeffrey R. Long. He went on to be a postdoctoral researcher in Mercouri Kanatzidis‘ laboratory at Northwestern and a postdoctor...

Sean Roberts Promoted

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that Sean Roberts has been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure, effective September 1, 2020. Roberts received his PhD in 2010 from MIT, followed by a postdoctoral fellow appointment at the University of Southern California.  He joined the Department in 2014.

Livia Eberlin Receives Curt Brunnée Award

Assistant Professor Livia Eberlin is the recipient of the 2020 Curt Brunnée Award. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the development of instrumentation for mass spectrometry by a person under the age of 45 at the time of the award. Eberlin will receive the award at the 23rd International Mass Spectrometry Conference in&nbs...

Emily Que Receives Paul Saltman Young Investigator Award

Assistant Professor Emily Que is the recipient of the Paul Saltman Young Investigator Award from the Metals in Biology Gordon Research Conference (MIB GRC). The MIB GRC is regarded as the pre-eminent forum for cutting-edge research in bioinorganic chemistry. Que gave her award lecture this week discussing her lab's work in developing fluorescent pr...

Jennifer Brodbelt Receives 2019 Eastern Analytical Symposium Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry

Professor Jennifer Brodbelt is the recipient of the 2019 Eastern Analytical Symposium Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry. The Eastern Analytical Symposium Award honors analytical chemists who have distinguished career achievements and have advanced the field of analytical chemistry by superior work in developing theory, techniqu...

Carlos Baiz Receives 2019 Biophysical Journal Paper of the Year Award

Source: Carlos R. Baiz to Receive the 2019 Biophysical Journal Paper of the Year Award The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Carlos R. Baiz PhD, University of Texas at Austin, has been selected as the winner of the Biophysical Journal Paper of the Year Award for 2019. The winning paper is titled Site-specific Pepti...

C. Grant Willson Retiring

The Department of Chemistry and the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin will sorely miss the science, leadership, wisdom, and humor from Professor C. Grant Willson after his official retirement in winter 2020. Professor Willson has been an inspiration to junior and senior faculty alike, often because of h...

Former Faculty Colleague Evan Kyba Passes Away

It is with profound sadness that the family of Evan P. Kyba, Ph.D., announces his death on Sunday, September 15, 2019. After four years of major health challenges with cardiac and renal disease, Evan determined the game he fought so valiantly had run its course. He chose to forgo further medical treatment and to spend his last days with his devoted...

Kanchan Aggarwal Receives Safety-First Leadership Fellowship

Graduate student Kanchan Aggarwal is the recipient of the second annual Safety-First Leadership Fellowship awarded in the Department of Chemistry. Kanchan was selected based on her ambitious proposal where she will provide the leadership structure in expanding the role of the Chemistry Student Safety Organization (CSSO) by various safety initiative...

Stephen Martin Named Gund-Harrington Scholar

Stephen Martin, Professor of Chemistry and the M. June and J. Virgil Waggoner Regents Chair in Chemistry, has been named the Gund-Harrington Scholar for 2019 by the Harrington Discovery Institute and the Foundation Fighting Blindness. This award is made annually through a competitive selection process to innovative scientists and physician-sci...

Jonathan Sessler Receives Career Research Excellence Award

Professor Jonathan Sessler is the recipient of the 2019 Co-op Career Research Excellence Award from the Office of the Vice President for Research. The award recognizes a faculty member or staff researcher who has maintained a superior research program across many years. The award is accompanied by a check in the amount of $10,000.

Michael Krische Receives ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry

Professor Michael Krische is the recipient of the 2020 American Chemical Society Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry. This award recognizes creative work in synthetic organic chemistry and   

Jonathan Sessler Named American Chemical Society Fellow

Professor Jonathan Sessler has been named a 2019 American Chemical Society Fellow. The fellows program began in 2008 to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession, and the Society. Professor Sessler and the other 2019 Class of ACS Fellows will be honored at the society's national ...

Que Group Paper Featured in JACS Young Investigators Virtual Issue

  "19F PARASHIFT Probes for Magnetic Resonance Detection of H2O2 and Peroxidase Activity," published by the Emily Que lab, is featured in the Journal of the American Chemical Society Young Investigators Virtual Issue 2019. The issue highlights premier research by outstanding young investigators published in 2...

Center for Sustainable Separations of Metals Established

The National Science Foundation has awarded a $1.8M grant to establish the Center for Sustainable Separations of Metals (CSSM), which will be led by chemists from The University of Pennsylvania and involve collaboration with UT Austin professor Jonathan Sessler. With support from NSF’s Centers for Chemical Innovation Program, the Center, one o...

Zak Page Receives Grant from Army Research Office

Assistant Professor Zachariah Page is the recipient of a grant for his research project, "Designing Wavelength-Specific Visible Light Photocurable Resins." While photocuring inherently offers attractive spatial and temporal characteristics, the ability to harness spectral resolution for color-coded chemistry remains elusive. Supported by ...