Button to scroll to the top of the page.

News and Highlights

From the Chemistry Department

Simon Humphrey Promoted

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that Simon Humphrey has been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure, effective September 1, 2016. Professor Humphrey received his PhD in 2005 from the University of Cambridge followed by a postdoctoral fellow appointment at UC Berkeley.  He joined the Department in 2009. Visit his group ...

Researchers Develop New Tool for Green Chemistry

Chemists from The University of Texas at Austin and Texas State University have developed an environmentally friendly method for creating chemical structures with complex shapes like those found in living things. The results have implications for reducing toxic waste in chemical manufacturing and research, understanding basic biological processes a...

Dave Thirumalai to Chair Department of Chemistry

We are excited to announce that Professor Dave Thirumalai of the University of Maryland College Park has accepted the chairmanship of the Department of Chemistry at UT Austin. Thirumalai will join the Department in January 2016.   Thirumalai received his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota and was a postdoc at Columbia Univ...

UT Austin Receives $4M to Develop Techniques for Brain Imaging & Manipulation

Researchers at The University of Texas at Austin will receive three grants totaling $4 million to develop techniques for imaging and manipulating the activity of neurons in the brain, research that will help scientists explore the mechanisms of addiction, obesity, fear and many other brain states and disorders. The funding, provided by the National...

Zachary Kasun Awarded ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Graduate Fellowship

Graduate student Zachary Kasun of the Krische Group is a 2015-2016 recipient of the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Graduate Fellowship. The Division of Organic Chemistry annually awards fellowships to outstanding third and fourth year graduate students in organic chemistry. The program has awarded more than 300 fellowships since 1...

Alan Cowley Retirement Symposium and Banquet, October 2015

For the latest information regarding Alan Cowley's Retirement Symposium and Banquet, including the schedule of events and how to provide support, please visit the event's website. - September 21, 2015  

Grant Willson Honored for Excellence in Semiconductor Technology and Design Research

The Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA), in consultation with Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC), today presented its University Research Award to professors from the University of Texas at Austin (UT Austin) and Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) in recognition of their outstanding contributions to semiconductor research.   Dr. Gra...

Welcome New Faculty - Carlos Baiz and Livia Eberlin

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to welcome our newest faculty members  - Drs.  Carlos Baiz and Livia Eberlin.   Carlos Baiz received his doctorate in chemistry from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor in 2011 after receiving his bachelor's degree in chemistry from Michigan Technological University in 2005. ...

Sarah Wong Participates in Prestigious Leadership Training to Increase STEM Leaders of Color

Dr. Sarah Wong is participating in a leadership program as a part of the Postdoctoral Fellow cohort at the SACNAS Summer Leadership Institute (SLI) led by Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics & Native Americans in Science (SACNAS) and American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS). The institute is an intensive course...

Jeffrey Dick Attends Nobel Laureate Meeting in Lindau, Germany

By Jeffrey E. Dick, National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellow in Prof. Allen Bard's Lab.     The 65th Nobel Laureate Meeting in Lindau, Germany was a week to remember, rife with intellectual conversation, passionate debates, and copious amounts of German beer, sauerkraut, and sausage. 651 students from 88 different count...

Kate Biberdorf Receives Natural Science Foundation Teaching Award

Congratulations to lecturer Dr. Kate Biberdorf, recipient of the 2015 Natural Science Foundation Teaching Excellence Award.   Established in 1981, the Natural Science Foundation Teaching Award is awarded to one outstanding professor in the College of Natural Sciences each year. Earlier in the semester, the Natural Sciences Council invited st...

Michael Krische Receives Pedler Award

Congratulations to Professor Michael Krische, recipient of the 2015 Pedler Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry. Krische is recognized for pioneering novel powerful C-C coupling methodologies via transfer hydrogenation and their applications to elegant and highly efficient natural compound syntheses.

Chemists Develop Technique to Detect Single Viruses

Graduate student Jeffrey Dick of the Bard Group is the lead author on a paper describing a laboratory technique that can detect single viruses floating in a solution of water. A version of the technique had previously been demonstrated for metals and other inorganic materials, but this is the first time it's been demonstrated on biological samples....

Alan Cowley Retiring After 54 Years

Professor Alan Cowley, who has had a distinguished 54-year career at the University of Texas, has announced he will retire effective August 31, 2015.   Professor Cowley has long been a leader in our department, and he played a major role in helping establish our department as one of the best in the country through his research, his teaching,...

Simon Humphrey Wins ChemComm Emerging Investigator Lectureship

Congratulations to Dr. Simon Humphrey, one of the winners of the 2014 ChemComm Emerging Investigator Lectureship, an annual lectureship series that recognizes an emerging scientist in the early stages of their independent academic career. In April, Dr. Humphrey completed a lectureship tour at UC San Diego, UC Riverside, and UC Santa Barbara.

Graduate student Edward Evans receives NSF fellowship

Department of Chemistry graduate student, Edward Evans has been awarded a graduate fellowship by the National Science Foundation.  Edward works in the lab of Professor Charles "Buddie" Mullins where his research focuses on renewable energy.  Edward received a B.A. in Chemistry from Wabash College in May 2013.  

Michael Cammarata Receives ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Graduate Fellowship

Michael Cammarata, of the Brodbelt group, received a 2015 ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Graduate Fellowship.  This highly competitive fellowship is given to graduate students in the field of analytical chemistry with a strong record of accomplishments.  Michael is completing his fourth year in the graduate program at UT, and the AC...

Zhongxing Huang Receives IPMI Elemetal Graduate Student Award

Congratulations to Zhongxing Huang, of the Dong Group, for receiving the 2015 IPMI Elemetal Graduate Student Award from the International Precious Metals Institute. The award recognizes unique research that advances the science of precious metal chemistry, catalysis, metallurgy, or natural science and increases the probability of industry to use or...

Michael Rose Receives Teaching Excellence Award

Congratulations to 2015 College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award recipient, Dr. Michael Rose. The Teaching Excellence Award celebrates the members of our faculty that excel in the classroom. Dr. Rose will be honored at the April 2nd Celebration of Excellence banquet.

Company Founded by Jonathan Sessler Sold for $21 Billion

Pharmacyclics, a pharmaceutical company co-founded in 1991 by Professor Jonathan Sessler and physician Dr. Richard Miller, has been purchased by AbbVie for $21 billion. Read more about Pharmacyclics and Dr. Sessler's cancer research.